The winner of Big Brother season 21, Jackson Michie, insists that he isn’t racist or sexist. After an intense finale, he sets the record straight. Season 21 was one of the most controversial seasons in Big Brother history.

After discussing this season’s controversies that involved Michie, the jury decided that although he wasn’t the ideal choice, he was the best of the top three players. The most damning thing against Michie was his words that some considered derogatory against women and minorities. On the live-feeds, he was heard on multiple occasions making degrading remarks towards his fellow housemates, all of whom were either women or minorities. There was also speculation of him getting help from production to cheat. Regardless of the mistakes, he’s made, he continues to maintain that he is neither a racist nor a sexist person.

As Michie was crowned the winner of Big Brother 21, he was barely able to revel in his $500,000 win and the confetti before he was confronted with accusations of bullying and racism. Host Julie Chen told him the concerns from the viewers and fellow houseguests - Ovi Kabir, David Alexander, and Kemi Fakunle - who thought his behavior in the house was unacceptable. Michie revealed (via Us) that he hadn’t expected that he would end up being the winner, claiming that he “didn’t pack according to finale night because I didn’t know if I would actually make it.” He claimed that all of the accusations brought up about him overshadowed his win and took him aback. He maintained his innocence, saying, “I know who I am and I know who I’m not, and I respect women more than anything.” He explained why the comments he made may have rubbed people the wrong way, saying, “I’m very abrasive and I have a lot of energy and passion in everything I say and do.” He maintained that’s how he is toward everyone, regardless of gender or race. He said, “I don’t see race or gender or anyone when I’m having a conversation. And if someone upsets me, they upset me the same way that a guy would.”

Michie insisted that he never intended to be “demoralizing” or “condescending to women,” and he was surprised to hear that some people felt that way about him. He explained that he’s an only child and “a mama’s boy at heart” and knows how to respect women. He said, “I know who I am and I know not. And I truly do respect women.” Michie revealed that it bothers him that America is now seeing him as a racist and a sexist, saying, “I hate that someone may think that out there.” 

Even though there were plenty of controversies this season, especially around Michie, it seems this season was eye-opening to the contestants about how to treat people. Season 21 brought up a dialogue that was necessary for America right now. As some fans are disappointed in this season of Big Brother, the cast, and even with Michie’s win - but there is hope that bullying, racism, and sexism will be a thing of the past for season 22 of Big Brother.

Next: Big Brother’s Natalie Negrotti Ends Nearly 2-Year-Long Relationship with Girlfriend

Source: Us