Of course, overfeeding your dog is a big no-no. But there’s a lot more you need to be concerned about. For example, you might be feeding your dogs food that’s bad for them. A while back, I noticed that my dog Abby was constantly itching. I was concerned about her, so I upgraded her dog food. Here’s what I learned about the healthiest way to feed a dog.

One of the biggest mistakes dog owners make is feeding their pups subpar food

There are a lot of misconceptions about the dos and don’ts of feeding dogs. For example, many pet lovers wonder, “Is it cruel to feed a dog only once a day?” According to the University of Washington, a single meal a day could improve your dog’s health as they age. However, your dog might need two meals daily, regardless of the research. Many pet owners forget that all dogs have different needs, so they follow general rules like “Feed your dog premium food” or “Only feed your dog once a day.” In reality, a good pet owner should be attuned to their dog’s needs.

I learned this lesson the hard way

One day, after watching Abby push her food bowl away and mope around, I realized I was guilty of a big mistake. I had been feeding Abby food loaded with fillers and junk! Instead of carefully looking over ingredients, I took food brands at their word when they said “premium” or “organic.” My blind trust led me to put bad food in Abby’s bowl. I gave her food full of fillers like corn, wheat, rice and soy. These unhealthy ingredients have little to no nutritional value for dogs. They just aren’t biologically appropriate for dogs. Instead of putting animal health first, these brands were buying cheap ingredients. They should have used higher-quality alternatives, like chicken, turkey and duck.

That’s why I switched to Dr. Marty’s Nature Blend

You’re probably feeding your dog “premium” or “organic” food that contains 50% to 64% processed cereal byproducts with little nutritional value. For 45+ years, Dr. Marty Goldstein has been a pioneer in pet nutrition. Nature’s Blend is a premium freeze-dried, raw dog food made in North America, designed to mimic what your dog would eat in the wild. Get this: 81% of the food is made from real cuts of raw turkey, raw beef, raw salmon and raw organ meats. The rest is omega-3-rich seeds, superfood veggies and fruits. They offer a hassle-free, full refund within 90 days of purchase if your dog doesn’t love it. For a limited time, save 50% on your first order, plus get a free bag of Dr. Marty’s bestselling dog treats. Tap or click here to visit DrMartyPets.com/Kim, or just text KIM to 511511.